Expertise

The career of Robert Boily, president and founder of Inforex Inc., spans 40 years at the cutting edge of science & technology. He studied electronics at the Teccart Institute and at the Montreal Polytechnic School, and then optics, optoelectronics and semiconductors in Rochester (New York, USA) and Toronto. On top of his studies in natural sciences and electronics engineering, he also explored human sciences by completing a Bachelor's degree in Education at the University of Quebec in Montreal, followed by Master and Doctorate (Ph.D.) degrees in Psychology of Learning at the University of Montreal.

Mr. Boily is an expert of scientific information and Knowledge Translation, and a long-time senior science advisor to governments, laboratories, universities, technology transfer institutions, research funding agencies and the industry. His work has been recognized with numerous awards and distinctions at the national and international levels.

He conducted over 1000 research projects for institutions and corporations located in Canada, the United States and Europe. His work has supported science, technology and engineering programs totalling well over 900 million dollars and has contributed to the advancement of science and knowledge in several sectors such as biotechnology, aerospace, electronics, energy, polymers, nanotechnology, plasma, medical imaging, lasers, environment, robotics, chemistry and advanced materials. His expertise has been a key factor in the success of international cooperation projects involving Canada, the United States, Europe and Japan.

During his career, he worked in collaboration with several of the most important institutions and corporations such as the NASA, the European Space Agency, the National Research Council of Canada, the National Institute of Scientific Research, the Canadian Space Agency, the Department of National Defence, Novartis Pharma, Siemens Medical Systems, Schlumberger Oil & Gas, Schering-Plough Research Institute, General Electric, Akzo Nobel, Osram Sylvania, Philips Electronics, and with universities, hospitals amd research centres from all over the world.

Mr. Boily is Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (SMIEEE), Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC), Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInstP, UK), Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (FIET, UK), Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (FAAAS), Fellow of the World Academy of Art and Science (FWAAS), member of the Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society, life member of the Royal Canadian Institute for Science, and member of the Mensa Society.

He served, among others, on the Professor Selection Committee at the Engineering & Technology School (ETS) of the University of Quebec, on the Multifaculty Committee of Research Ethics of the University of Montreal, on the Innovation Selection Committee of the Government of Canada (Ottawa), and on the Electorate Nominating Committee of AAAS (Washington, D.C.).

Mr. Boily is also a passionate of History and Arts: music, painting, museums, literature, architecture, ancient civilizations, medieval and celtic studies.

Expertise

La carrière de Robert Boily, président et fondateur de Inforex Inc., s'étend sur 40 ans à la fine pointe de la science et de la technologie. Il a étudié l’électronique à l'Institut Teccart et à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, de même que l’optique, l'optoélectronique et les semiconducteurs à Rochester (New York, USA) et Toronto. En plus de ses études en sciences naturelles, il a aussi exploré les sciences humaines en complétant un Baccalauréat en éducation à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, suivi d'une Maîtrise et d'un Doctorat (Ph.D.) en psychologie de l'apprentissage à l’Université de Montréal.

M. Boily est un expert de l'information scientifique et de l'application des connaissances, et un conseiller scientifique senior de longue date auprès des gouvernements, laboratoires, universités, institutions de transfert technologique, agences de financement de la recherche et l'industrie. Ses réalisations ont été saluées par de nombreux prix et distinctions aux niveaux national et international.

Il a dirigé plus de 1000 projets de recherche pour des institutions et des entreprises situées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Ses travaux ont soutenu des programmes de science, technologie et ingénierie totalisant bien au-delà de 900 millions de dollars et ont contribué à l'avancement de la recherche et des connaissances dans plusieurs secteurs tels que les biotechnologies, l'aérospatial, l'électronique, l'énergie, les polymères, les nanotechnologies, le plasma, l'imagerie médicale, les lasers, l'environnement, la robotique, la chimie et nouveaux matériaux. Son expertise a été un facteur-clé dans la réussite de projets de coopération internationale impliquant le Canada, les États-Unis, l’Europe et le Japon.

Durant sa carrière, il a travaillé en collaboration avec plusieurs importantes sociétés et organisations, telles que la NASA, l’Agence spatiale européenne, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique, l'Agence spatiale canadienne, le Département de la Défense nationale, Novartis Pharma, Siemens Medical Systems, Schlumberger Oil & Gas, Schering-Plough Research Institute, General Electric, Akzo Nobel, Osram Sylvania, Philips Electronics, et avec des universités, hôpitaux et des centres de recherche à travers le monde.

M. Boily est membre senior de l'Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (SMIEEE), Fellow de la Société royale du Canada (FRSC), Fellow de l'Institut de Physique (FInstP, UK), Fellow de l'Institut d'Ingénierie et de Technologie (FIET, UK), Fellow de l’Association Américaine pour l'Avancement de la Science (FAAAS), Fellow de l'Académie Mondiale des Arts et des Sciences (FWAAS), membre de la Société scientifique Sigma Xi, membre à vie de l'Institut Royal Canadien pour la Science, et membre de la Société Mensa.

Il a siégé, entre autres, au Comité de sélection des nouveaux professeurs à l’École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS) de l’Université du Québec, au Comité plurifacultaire sur l'éthique en recherche de l'Université de Montréal, au Comité de sélection des innovations du Gouvernement du Canada (Ottawa), et au Comité Sciences et technologies industrielles de l'AAAS (Washington, D.C.).

M. Boily est aussi un passionné de l’Histoire et des Arts: musique, peinture, musées, littérature, architecture, civilisations anciennes, études médiévales et celtiques, etc.